Anaesthesiology and Critical Care

Anaesthetics and Critical Care

Inkosi Albert Luthuli Central Hospital


NRMSM Campus



Medical School

The Department of Anaesthetics is located both within the Nelson R Mandela School of Medicine at 719 Umbilo Road (Room 420), Durban as well as at Inkosi Albert Luthuli Central Hospital (Level 4) at 800 Bellair Road, Mayville. 
The Department provides an anaesthetic service for the Greater Durban area and provides consultative services to the whole of the KZN region. 
The Department provides under-graduate teaching within the Faculty of Medicine as well as a Master of Medicine course for training specialist Anaesthetists (accredited by the Health Professions Council of South Africa).

Head of DepartmentDr Dean Gopalan031 260 4328
Deputy Heads of DepartmentDr Zane Farina
Prof Bruce Biccard
AdministrationCamy Singh031 260 4328
Simulation, Technical & WebsiteNaren Bhimsan031 260 4344
  031 240 1784


Share This Page