About Us

A rheumatology service in KwaZulu-Natal was initiated in the late 1960’s by Dr WG Neil and was subsequently managed by Dr I Chalmers and later Dr PD Naidoo. There was a major impetus for the development of rheumatology with the endowment of the Aaron Beare Family Chair of Rheumatology in 1992 and the establishment of the Rheumatology Unit. 

The Department of Rheumatology is dedicated to the diagnosis and treatment of all patients with diseases of the joints such as Arthritis, bone diseases such as osteoporosis, soft tissue diseases such as tendonitis, and autoimmune diseases such as systemic lupus erythematosus and scleroderma. This is accomplished through a balance of education, research, and clinical care of patients with various rheumatic disorders. 

Clinical Activities


The Department provides a consultative service for patients from all over KwaZulu-Natal and the Eastern Cape. 

Out Patient Services


The following clinics are held weekly: 

  • Monday morning: Lupus Clinic
  • Monday afternoon: New Patient Clinic
  • Tuesday morning: Arthritis Follow-Up Clinic
  • Thursday morning: Arthritis Follow-Up Clinic
  • A combined clinic is held once a month with the Orthopaedic Surgeons.

Inpatient Services


The Department has 14 in-patient beds. Most admissions are for the management of multidisciplinary patients with connective tissue diseases and the management of acute inflammatory arthritis. 

Head of Department & Aaron Beare Professor of Rheumatology 

Share This Page